Vuelta Al Tachira: Arthur Garcia takes opening stage

Special Coverage Vuelta Espana 2008
Saul's corner
Race reports
Peloton TV
Picture gallery
Other stories
Riders diaries
Live coverage
Cyclingheroes Forum
Book reviews
Special Coverage
Hall of Fame
Cyclingheroes shop
Race calender
Cyclinheroes Flash-news archive

05.01.2008/ Arthur Garcia took the opening stage of the 43. Vuelta Al Tachira. The young gun also leads the General Classification.

© Vuelta Al Tachira
Profile stage 1 (© Vuelta Al Tachira )

The promising young rider Arthurt Garcia (Club Kino Tachira-Banfoandes), won the first stage of the Vuelta Al Tachira. The first stage took place at a circuit in the main streets and avenues of Guasdualito (Venezuela). 

Arthur Garcia finished after 110 kilometers in 2 hours, 29 minutes and 1 second, after he won the sprint against Gíl Cordovés (Alcaldía de Cabimas) and veteran Anthony Brea (Alcaldía Bolivariana de Páez).

The first leg of the Vuelta Al Tachira ran over a distance of 110 kilometres, in a closed circuit in the town of Guasdualito llanera, capital of the municipality of Paez Apure state, located some 860 kilometres southwest of the capital Caracas. 

More than 90 riders from the Netherlands, Argentina, Colombia, Cuba and  14 teams from Venezuela, who will race more than 1,596 miles, approximately, by the states of Apure, Barinas llaneros, over the high mountains of Merida and Tachira. 

The second stage of the 43. Vuelta Al Tachira will be flat, and will start in Guasdualito in the state of Apure and Santa Barbara de Barinas, where the riders will race 182 kilometres before they reach the finish in Santa Barbara de Barinas.

Stage 1
1. Arthur García - Kino Táchira VEN………...2:29:01
2. Gil Córdoves - Alcaldía de Cabimas VEN……m.t
3. Anthony Brea - Gobernación Apure VEN ……m.t
4. Patrick Kos - Global Cycling HOL…… .. 02:29:02
5. Manuel Medina - Gobernación Zulia VEN ..… m.t
6. Julio Herrera - Gobernación de Apure VEN......m.t
7. Luís Mascopolo - Exp. Occidente VEN …..m.t
8. Daniel Abreu - Selección Zulia VEN ……….. m.t M.t
9. Lizardo Benítez - Selección Cuba CUB…….. m.t
10. Javier Lindner - Acne Coach ARG …….…… m.t
General Classification after stage 1
1 .- Arthur Garcia - Kino Tachira VEN……… 2:29:01 ..
2.-Gil Córdoves - Alcaldía de Cabimas VEN…..m.t
3.- Anthony Brea - Gobernación Apure VEN ….m.t
4.- Patrick Kos - Global Cycling HOL…… ….2:29:02
5.- Manuel Medina - Gobernación Zulia VEN … m.t
6.- Julio Herrera - Gobernación de Apure VEN… m.t
7.- Luís Mascopolo - Exp. Occidente VEN …..… m.t 
8.- Daniel Abreu - Selección Zulia VEN ……….m.t.
9.- Lizardo Benítez - Selección Cuba CUB……..m.t
10-Javier Lindner - Acne Coach ARG …….…… m.t
General Sprint
1. Víctor Moreno (Selección Zulia)… 10 points
2. Daniel Abreu (Selección Zulia)…...... 6 points
3. Joendri Bermúdez (Selección Zulia). .4 points
4. Gil Córdobes (Alcaldía Cabimas)…..2… points
5. Julio Herrera (Gobernación Apure).... 2points

Join our forum and discuss the Vuelta Al Tachira 2008

Read also:

Special Coverage Vuelta Al Tachira 2008

Link: New Cyclingheroes Website

Custom Search

By clicking to an outside link from our website, you automatically release us from any and all liability. Cyclingheroes has no control over the content of outside links, or sites linked from there, nor do we endorse anything that may be of a illegal and/or vulgar nature. Cyclingheroes provides outside links only as a free service to our readers.