Vuelta Al Tachira: Manuel "el Gato" Medina takes fourth stage

Special Coverage Vuelta Espana 2008
Saul's corner
Race reports
Peloton TV
Picture gallery
Other stories
Riders diaries
Live coverage
Cyclingheroes Forum
Book reviews
Special Coverage
Hall of Fame
Cyclingheroes shop
Race calender
Cyclinheroes Flash-news archive

09.01.2008/ Yesterday, Manuel Medina won the fourth stage of the Vuelta Al Tachira. Medina won after an exiting race full of attacks. Today the riders will go into the mountains. 

© Vuelta Al Tachira
Manuel Medina took the fourth stage (© Vuelta Al Tachira )

The Venezuelan rider Manuel "El Gato" Medina Gobernación (Gobernación del Zulia) won the fourth stage of the Vuelta al Táchira after 166 kilometres between Ciudad Bolivia and Barinitas. 

The first kilometres of stage 4  were at a circuit on the streets of Ciudad Bolivia  where Ronald Pirela (Alcaldía de Nirgua) attacked and got a maximum lead of  2 minutes and 25 seconds but Pirela was caught again as the riders left the circuit. 

Pretty soon after Pirela was caught again Argentine rider Mario Patalogoytia started a solo attack.  Patalogoytia had a maximum lead of 1.25 on the bunch, but with 22 kilometres to go he was captured and all riders started the small climb just before Barinitas together.

The first attack on the climb was done by lotero Roman. His attack didn't succeed and Jimmy Briceño (Expreso de Occidente) and the Colombian Raul Saavedra (Alcaldía de Cabimas) were the next riders who attacked. John Nava (Kino Tachira) was the last rider that attacked on the climb but they were all caught again by the bunch.

Manuel "El Gato" Medina took the stage after a powerfull sprint. The overall winner of the 2006 edition of the race said: "I thank God and my family, this is a triumph of the whole team." 

Tomorrows stage starts in Merida and will finish after 96 kilometres in Bailadores. It will be the first stage where the GC riders could make their move.There will be 4 intermediate sprints and three climbs. One first category climb and the HC climb at the finish.

Malaya van Ruitenbeek came in seventh today, he had the same time as stage winner Medina. The Dutch rider reports with a regular riders diary from Venezuela. Today: Diary Malaya van Ruitenbeek Vuelta Al Tachira 2008 Day 3, 4 & 5 : "happy with my 7th place"

Stage 4
1. Manuel Medina Gobernación del Zulia 3 H 51 M 19 seg.
2. víctor Moreno Alcaldía de Cabimas m.t.
3. Julio Herrera Gobernación de Apure m.t.
4. Jackson Rodríguez Lotería del Táchira m.t.
5. Juan Ruiz kino Táchira Banfoandes m.t.
6. Juan Murillo Lotería del Táchira m.t.
7. Malaya Van Ruitenbeek Holanda Global Team m.t.
8. Paul Torres Gobrnación del Zulia m.t.
9. Fredy Paredes Bono del Ciclismo T. Los Vados m.t.
10. José Alarcón Kino Táchira m.t.
General Classification after stage 4
1. Arthur García Kino Táchira Banfoandes 13. 26' 28 s".
2. Anthony Brea Gobernación de Apure a 4 ".
3. Julio Herrera Gobernación de Apure a 6 ".
4. víctor Moreno Alcaldía de Cabimas m.t.
5. Manuel Medina Gobernación del Zulia a 8 ".
6. Wilmen Bravo Gobernación de Apure a 10 ".
7. yoendri Bermudes Seleccion del Zulia a 11 ".
8. John Nava Kino Táchira Banfoandes a 13 ".
9. Daniel Abreu Selección del Zulia a 15 ".
10. Henry Mendoza Gobernación de Apure m.t.
11. Jorge Duarte Expreso de Occidente a 16 ".

Join our forum and discuss the Vuelta Al Tachira 2008

Read also:

Special Coverage Vuelta Al Tachira 2008

Link: New Cyclingheroes Website

Custom Search

By clicking to an outside link from our website, you automatically release us from any and all liability. Cyclingheroes has no control over the content of outside links, or sites linked from there, nor do we endorse anything that may be of a illegal and/or vulgar nature. Cyclingheroes provides outside links only as a free service to our readers.