Matthew Lloyd new Australian National Road Champion

Special Coverage Vuelta Espana 2008
Saul's corner
Race reports
Peloton TV
Picture gallery
Other stories
Riders diaries
Live coverage
Cyclingheroes Forum
Book reviews
Special Coverage
Hall of Fame
Cyclingheroes shop
Race calender
Cyclinheroes Flash-news archive

13.01.2008/ Silence-Lotto's Matthew Lloyd won the Australian National Road title today. The 24 year old won after he attacked with 30 kilometres to go. Team High Road's Adam Hansen came in second.

© Silence-Lotto
Matthew Lloyd is the new Australian National Road Champion ( Silence-Lotto)

The first appearance of the new Silence-Lotto outfit was a bull's eye. Matthew Lloyd (Silence-Lotto) attacked with 30 kilometres to go on the tough Ballarat circuit. At that moment the survivors of an early breakaway were still leading the race. lloyd soon joined them and attacked again with only 20 kilometres to go.

Lloyd rode the remaining 20 kilometres alone, towards the yellow-and-green jersey. Finishing 49" later, Adam Hansen (Team High Road) and Rory Sutherland (Health Net p/b Maxxis) completed the podium.

Silence-Lotto suppliers now have some extra work. Specialized, Ridley and Vermarc are already busy with the creation of a special helmet, frame and jersey design.

1 Matthew Lloyd (Silence-Lotto)     4.13.22 (38.600 km/h)
2 Adam Hansen (Team High Road)          0.49
3 Rory Sutherland (Health net p/b Maxxis)

Join our forum and discuss the Australian National Road Championships

Read also:

Race reports

Link: New Cyclingheroes Website

Custom Search

By clicking to an outside link from our website, you automatically release us from any and all liability. Cyclingheroes has no control over the content of outside links, or sites linked from there, nor do we endorse anything that may be of a illegal and/or vulgar nature. Cyclingheroes provides outside links only as a free service to our readers.