Tour de San Luis: Ochoa takes queen stage

Special Coverage Vuelta Espana 2008
Saul's corner
Race reports
Peloton TV
Picture gallery
Other stories
Riders diaries
Live coverage
Cyclingheroes Forum
Book reviews
Special Coverage
Hall of Fame
Cyclingheroes shop
Race calender
Cyclinheroes Flash-news archive

27.01.2008/ Team Diquigiovanni's Oscar Ochoa won yesterdays queen stage of the Tour de San Luis. It was the first professional win of he Venezuelan neo pro. Martin Garrido defended his overall lead on Saturdays penultimate stage of the Argentine stage race. 

The 157 kilometres long fourth stage of the Tour de San Luis from San Luis to the summit of Mirador De Potreros was won by Carlos Ochoa in a time of 3 hours, 50 minutes and 25 seconds.  Beñat Intxausti (Saunier Duval) came in second, and Colombian rider Jose Serpa (Team Diaquigiovanni) came in third.Both riders were  6 seconds behind stage winner Ochoa. CSC's Fränk Schleck came in fourth, 17 seconds behind the stage winner.

Overall leader Martin Garrido (Palmeiras Resort-Tavira) came in 19th, 35 seconds behind Ochoa. Garrido ectended his overall lead. Garrido has an overall lead of 1' 06" on Gerardo Fernandez (San Luis Argentina).

Garrido's Palmeiras Resort-Tavira team controlled the race and the team didn't allow any break away groups so Garrido didn't lose to much time at the final climb.

German riders Tilo Schüler and Philipp Mamos (both riding with Team Sparkassse) publish a daily diary at our website. We don't have the result of Til Schüler yet. After Philipp Mamos had mechanical problems and came in 200th, 24 minutes and 1 second at Tuesdays prologue, he was not allwed to start at stage 1.

Join our forum and discuss the Tour de San Luis 2008

Back to:

Special Coverage Tour de San Luis 2008

Results Tour de San Luis 2008
stage 4
1 Carlos Ochoa (Ven) Team Diquigiovanni            3.50.25
2 Beñat Intxausti (Spa) Saunier Duval                 0.06
3 Jose Serpa (Col) Team Diquigiovanni                    
4 Fränk Schleck (Lux) Team CSC                        0.17
5 Jackoson Rodriguez (Ven) Team Diquigiovanni         0.23

General Classification after stage 4
1 Martin Garrido (Arg) Palmeiras Resort-Tavira    11.54.18
2 Gerardo Fernandez (Arg) San Luis                    1.06
3 Jorge A. Giacinti (Arg) Scott/Marcondes             1.09
4 Jose Serpa (Col) Team Diquigiovanni                 1.10
5 Magno Prado (Bra) Scott/Marcondes                   1.11

Link: New Cyclingheroes Website

Custom Search

By clicking to an outside link from our website, you automatically release us from any and all liability. Cyclingheroes has no control over the content of outside links, or sites linked from there, nor do we endorse anything that may be of a illegal and/or vulgar nature. Cyclingheroes provides outside links only as a free service to our readers.