Tour de San Luis: J. J. Haedo takes final stage - Garrido overall winner

Special Coverage Vuelta Espana 2008
Saul's corner
Race reports
Peloton TV
Picture gallery
Other stories
Riders diaries
Live coverage
Cyclingheroes Forum
Book reviews
Special Coverage
Hall of Fame
Cyclingheroes shop
Race calender
Cyclinheroes Flash-news archive

28.01.2008/ CSC's J. J. Haedo won yesterdays finat stage of the Tour de San Luis. Haedo outsprinted Maximiliano Richeze (Argentina National Team), Gil Cordovés (Tecos Trek-México ) came in third. Martin Garrido (Palmeiras Resort-Tavira) is the oevrall winner of the second edition of the Argentine stage race.

Martin Garrido has won the overall classification of the Tour de San Luis, Garrido arrived with the bunch in the final stage which was decided by a bunch sprint. The stage was won by Juan José Haedo, It was Haedo's second stage win in the second edition of the Argentine stage race. Haedo also won the first stage of the race.
The fifth and final stage with a distance of 166 kilometres with start and finish in San Luis was visited by thousands of spectators who celebrated Martin garrido's overall win.
J. J. Haedo outsprinted Maxi Richeze, Gil Cordoves, Gerardo Fernandez and Rob Ruijg. The stage winner needed 3 hours, 37 minutes and 7 seconds, with the bunch all in the same time as the winner.

Martin Garrido arrived with the bunch, the overall winner enjoyed his Tour d'Honneur passing through El Durazno and El Trapiche. Garrido came in 19th.

Immediately after the start four riders broke off: Luciano Montiviero (La Rioja-Lito), Luis Gutierrez (Tecos Trek-Mexico), Cesar Sigura (Chivilcoy) and David De la Source (Saunier Duval) had a maximum lead of 2 minutes and  55 seconds. The first intermediate Sprint was won by Montiviero, followed by Gutierrez and Sigura.  After 113 kilometres the bunch caught the escapees. The bunch kept a high pace so it was impossible to attack.
The overall podium of the Tour de San Luis was completely Argentine, as Gerardo Fernandez (San Luis Argentina) and the champion of the last edition of the Tour, Jorge Giacinti (Scott / Marcondes) finished second and third respectively in the overall ranking.

German riders Tilo Schüler and Philipp Mamos (both riding with Team Sparkassse) publish a daily diary at our website. We don't have the result of Til Schüler yet. After Philipp Mamos had mechanical problems and came in 200th, 24 minutes and 1 second at Tuesdays prologue, he was not allwed to start at stage 1.

Join our forum and discuss the Tour de San Luis 2008

Back to:

Special Coverage Tour de San Luis 2008

Results Tour de San Luis 2008
stage 5
1)Juan José Haedo Team CSC 3h 37m 07s
2)Maximiliano Richeze Selección Argentina mt
3)Gil Cordovés Tecos Trek-México mt
4)Gerardo Fernández San Luis Argentina mt
5)Rob Ruijgh Team Sparkasse mt

Final General Classification
1)Martín Garrido Palmeiras Resort-Tavira 15h 31m 21s
2)Gerardo Fernández San Luis Argentina a 1m 06s
3)Jorge Giacinti Scott/Marcondes a 1m 09s
4)José Serpa Team Diaquigiovanni a 1m 10s
5)Magno Prado Scott/Marcondes a 1m 11s
Final Team Classification
1)San Luis Argentina
3)Palmeiras Resort-Tavira
Young Rider Classification (U 23)
1) Magno Prado Scott/Marcondes
2)Gastón Agüero Entre Rios-Esco Telefónicos
3)Manuele Boaro Zalf Fior

Link: New Cyclingheroes Website

Custom Search

By clicking to an outside link from our website, you automatically release us from any and all liability. Cyclingheroes has no control over the content of outside links, or sites linked from there, nor do we endorse anything that may be of a illegal and/or vulgar nature. Cyclingheroes provides outside links only as a free service to our readers.