Duclos-Lassalle takes GP de Marseille

Special Coverage Vuelta Espana 2008
Saul's corner
Race reports
Peloton TV
Picture gallery
Other stories
Riders diaries
Live coverage
Cyclingheroes Forum
Book reviews
Special Coverage
Hall of Fame
Cyclingheroes shop
Race calender
Cyclinheroes Flash-news archive

03.02.2008/ Hevé Duclos-Lassalle (Cofidis) won the French season opener GP de Marseille today. Duclos-Lassalle outsprinted his fellow escapees of a 12 men strong break away group.

© Cofidis
Hervé Duclos-Lassalle took the GP de Marseille (© Cofidis)

The European season kicked off with the 140 kilometres long GP de Marseille. 28 year old Hervé Duclos-Lassalle (Cofidis) was one of 12 riders in a break away group. The 12 riders attacked after 50 kilometres.

In the breakaway group: Pierre Cazaux (Roubaix Lille Métropole), Bart Dockx (Silence-Lotto), Samuel Dumoulin and Hervé Duclos-Lassalle (Cofidis), Ryder Hesjedal (Slipstream Chipotle), Jonathan Hivert (Credit Agricole), Guillaume Le Floch (Brittany - Armor Lux), Geoffroy Lequatre (Agritubel), Kevin Neirynck (Landbouwkrediet-Tonissteiner), Yury Trofimov (Bouygues Telecom), Frederik Veuchelen (Topsport Vlaanderen) and  surpsingly French National Road Champion Christophe Moreau (Agritubel). The 12 escapees had a maximum lead of 3' 30" on the bunch.

The bunch failed to catch the break away group and as the 12 race leaders reached Marseille three riders attacked out of the break away group: Duclos-Lassalle, Hesjedal and Veuchelen. The trio did not work together very well and the nine men strong chasing group almost came back in the final kilometre. Duclos-Lassale outspinted his two break away companions and picked up his first win as a professional.  Frederik Veuchelen came in second and Candaian rider Ryder Hesjedal came in third.

Results GP de Marseille

1. Hervé Duclos-Lassalle (FRA, Cofidis) 3h22'23" (41,743 km/h)
2. Frederik Veuchelen (BEL, Topsport Vlaanderen) m.t.
3. Ryder Hesjedal (CAN, Splistream Chipotle) m.t.
4. Geoffroy Lequatre (FRA, Agritubel) m.t
5. Samuel Dumoulin (FRA, Cofidis) m.t.
6. Jonathan Hivert (FRA, Crédit Agricole) m.t.
7. Guillaume Le Floch (FRA, Bretagne-Armor Lux) m.t.
8. Yury Trofimov (RUS, Bouygues Telecom) m.t.
9. Geert Steurs (BEL, Silence-Lotto) m.t.
10. Pierre Cazaux (FRA, Roubaix Lille Métropole) m.t..

Join our forum and discuss the GP de Marseille and Etoile Besseges 2008

Back to:

Special Coverage GP de Marseille and Etoile de Besseges 2008

Link: New Cyclingheroes Website

Custom Search

By clicking to an outside link from our website, you automatically release us from any and all liability. Cyclingheroes has no control over the content of outside links, or sites linked from there, nor do we endorse anything that may be of a illegal and/or vulgar nature. Cyclingheroes provides outside links only as a free service to our readers.